vegan taco bell options Is Taco Bell vegan

Is Taco Bell Vegan?

Is Taco Bell vegan?

So you want to eat vegan at Taco Bell. Great news. Vegan taco bell options are here and available. Taco Bell may be one of the most vegan-friendly fast-food chains around. That is to say, you don’t have to worry about finding vegan food options. You can custom tailor your order to best suit your plant-only lifestyle. On their website and app, they offer the “Make It Meatless” option, as well as an option that automatically substitutes dairy toppings with pico de gallo.

Vegan Taco Bell options

Let’s start by looking at what Taco Bell actually offers that’s vegan. The menu at Taco Bell offers some dishes that are already vegan, such as black beans and rice and cinnamon sticks. Unfortunately, their main entrees traditionally come with meat, dairy, and cheese. What sets Taco Bell apart from its fast-food competitors is that nearly every item on its menu can be converted into a vegan treat. Let’s explore how this is done.

Make it Fresco

“Make it fresco” is basically code for ordering vegan at Taco Bell. Customers can order almost anything fresco-style, and the staff knows to substitute pico de gallo for the dairy and cheese ingredients. The basic recipe for Pico de gallo is tomatoes, onions, and cilantro. Replacing meat options with black beans completes the vegan conversion. Let’s take a look at some of the vegan Taco Bell options.

Vegan Taco Bell Everyday Options

vegan taco bell options what's vegetarian at taco bell crunchy and soft taco
Taco Bell

Crunchy or Soft Taco

Soft or crunchy tortilla and use black beans in place of beef, and then make it fresco. With lettuce and salsa, your vegan bean taco is done. A vegan modified taco party pack is the way to go if you happen to be in a car full of hungry vegans. (There is a scary thought…a car full of hungry vegans 😉)

Spicy Potato Soft Taco

For the cost-conscious people, order this off the $1 menu. You can order this dish without cheese and chipotle sauce (fresco style), and add vegan toppings like guacamole or red sauce.

vegan taco bell options eat vegetarian at taco bell vegan bean burrito
Taco Bell

Bean Burrito

This is a simple fix. Order your bean burrito “fresco style” and your vegan taco bell option is complete. Add guacamole and extra tomatoes for extra deliciousness. Closely related, there is the Bean and Rice Burrito. This is another $1 menu item. Skip the cheese and jalapeno sauce when you order. Make your choice heartier by piling on a few vegan upgrades.

Veggie Power Burrito

Ordered “fresco style”, this vegan burrito is filled with protein and healthy fat thanks to the black beans and guacamole. Also, let’s not forget the wrap, lettuce and pico de gallo adds texture and taste.

Vegan Taco Bell Specialty Options

Black Bean Chalupa

The chalupa at Taco Bell is a popular item. You can go vegan by creating a black bean chalupa with the fresco option. With such an impressive menu item, you should load this up with other vegan options.

vegan taco bell options are taco bell fries vegan veggie power bowl
Taco Bell

Veggie Power Bowl

You’ll find seasoned rice, black beans, guacamole, and various veggies in this bowl. Making it vegan is as simple as leaving out cheese, sour cream, and avocado ranch. Throw in any number of vegan Taco Bell sauces and you have a satisfying meal. Warning: this item tends to be messy and you will need a fork.

Is Taco Bell vegan does taco bell have vegan options mexican pizza
Taco Bell

Mexican Pizza

Most vegans will tell you “Vegan” and “Pizza” rarely go together. Too many non-vegan ingredients in pizza. However, with the Mexican pizza at Taco Bell, you can easily swap in black beans, order without cheese and suddenly you have a vegan Mexican pizza. Add a few vegan ingredients for more flavor.

vegan taco bell options Is Taco Bell vegan crunch wrap supreme

Black Bean Crunchwrap Supreme

Let’s face it, the Crunchwrap is an impressive item all by itself. However, by ordering it fresco-style, you’ll get an on-the-go vegan snack. This option omits the nacho cheese and sour cream. Instead, it adds beans, tomatoes, lettuce, and a crunchy tostada layer.

Vegan Taco Bell Side Dish Options

vegan taco bell options collage of taco bell vegan side dishes
Taco Bell

Tortilla Chips

Tortilla chips are for dipping and snacking. Pair it with a side of guacamole. Super quick vegan snack.

Black Beans (and Rice)

Whether you order with or without rice, this side is a simple addition to any vegan taco bell order.

Cinnamon Twists

By default, cinnamon twists are vegan. This tasty sugary treat is the perfect end to a great Taco Bell meal.

Fast-food Convenience

There is no doubt that fast food isn’t the healthiest type of food, but if you and your family are in a rush between school and after-school activities, Taco Bell might have what you need. Replace the meat with beans and order “fresco style”. You will have a fast and convenient vegan snack.

Vegan Taco Bell Commitment

In addition to offering vegan ingredients such as black beans, tortilla chips, guacamole, and potato bites, Taco Bell is working on a partnership with Beyond Meat. The T-Bell app and in-person ordering options both offer a “make it vegetarian” option. Then place your order “fresco style” so your vegan taco bell meal will be topped with a tasty pico de gallo replacing cheese, sour cream, and mayo. In short, vegan taco bell options: YES!

List of Vegan Sauces at Taco Bell

  • Breakfast Salsa
  • Diablo Sauce Packet
  • Fire Sauce Packet
  • Hot Sauce Packet
  • Mild Sauce Packet
  • Red Sauce

Source: Taco Bell “How to Eat Vegan” article

  • Is taco bell meat vegan?

    Yes, in some cases. That is to say, Taco Bell partnered with Beyond Beef and has been testing plant-based meats at restaurants across the county for the last year. In October 2021, they announced expanding the "meatless" meat to 95 locations in metro Detroit.

  • Are taco bell fries vegan?

    In theory the answer is yes. Vegans have voiced concerns about cross-contamination from the oil used to deep fry the fries. By default, taco bell fries are served with nacho cheese which is not vegan. You can order the fries without the cheese.

  • What's vegetarian at taco bell?

    Taco Bell offers no less than 7 meatless entrees including Tacos, burritos, chalupas, and a veggie power bowl. For more, check out this article.

  • Does taco bell have vegan options?

    Surprisingly, the answer is No. That is to say, there is virtually nothing on the menu that is strictly vegan. However, with some careful ingredient replacements, you can create a vegan meal. So you ask, "Is taco bell vegan?" The answer is a definitive "Maybe". 🙄

Similar Posts


  1. Awesome. Taco Bell has vegan options. You vegans are always sticking your nose in where it doesn’t belong. BTW: I am still gonna go with my Double Nacho Bell Grande. Maybe I will order a diet coke? 😏

    1. Totally cool Tim. I would be right there with you but I found a vegan decoder ring in my cracker jacks and now I am one of those tree-hugging, granola-eating vegan people. LOL 😎

  2. Thanks for the heads up Bob Guy. I have been vegan for 5 years and pretty much stopped going to fast food joints. 5 years ago they had nothing vegan. I am glad to see that some fast food places are offering vegan options. Have you tried the Impossible Whopper? Any good?

    1. Congrats on making 5 years as a vegan. I would recommend avoiding fast food restuarants by default. I mean to say, fast food places serve low-quality food. Whether it is vegan or not, the ingredients are still overly-processed least-fresh versions. My basic rule – stay away from any place that has a drive-thru window.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *